## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 15, 2020

The Honorable K. Jane Williams Acting Administrator Federal Transit Administration U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Acting Administrator Williams:

As you know, Congress appropriated \$25 billion in emergency funding in the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act to ensure Americans—including frontline healthcare workers, law enforcement, first responders, and other safety personnel—do not lose access to reliable transit during the COVID-19 pandemic, and to ensure frontline transit workers have access to personal protective equipment (PPE). We appreciate the work of you and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) staff in adhering to the very tight timeline we provided to get this immediate financial relief to transit agencies across the nation. We also appreciate the FTA's recently updated guidance regarding PPE and safety protections for transit workers. We believe that these recommendations should be improved upon by making them mandatory during this crisis and by taking several more actions to bring FTA's guidance fully in line with guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

In the brief time since Congress passed this historic funding, we have already seen the tragic death of frontline transit workers as a result of the novel coronavirus. Bus drivers, stations agents, cleaners, and other frontline transit workers are contracting the virus at a rate much higher than the general public. Nationally, at least 60 transit workers have died as a result of COVID-19.

The guidance FTA has issued so far recognizes the importance of PPE and social distancing measures in preventing the transmission of COVID-19. We believe FTA should further update its guidance to the logical next step by working with transit agencies to mandate that:

- Buses, trains, streetcars, and worker facilities, including crew rooms, are regularly disinfected.
- Agencies are requiring a safe distance between riders and transit operators.
- Safety precautions are taken to protect transit workers from touching the same digital screen, keyboard, or fingerprint-scanning device, e.g. for timekeeping purposes.
- Brave front line workers are afforded death benefits.

Thank you for your timely attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

Tom Malinowski Member of Congress Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress

wel I KM

Bill Pascrell, Jr.	Marcia L. Fudge	Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Grace F. Napolitano	Mark Pocan	Thomas R. Suozzi
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jamie Raskin	Jesús G. "Chuy" García	Donald M. Payne, Jr.
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Will Oct 1	A d. D. F.	N " D' D
Mike Quigley	Anthony Brindisi	Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Danida Lawana	Halan M. Ctanaga	Alan Lowenthal
Brenda Lawrence	Haley M. Stevens	
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
John B. Larson	Eddie Bernice Johnson	Adriano Espaillat
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Eleanor Holmes Norton	Ann Kirkpatrick	Raja Krishnamoorthi
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Earl Blumenauer	Steve Cohen	Chris Pappas
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Julia Brownley	Donald S. Beyer Jr.	Suzanne Bonamici
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Rick Larsen	Bill Foster	Alcee L. Hastings
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch	Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez	Debbie Mucarsel-Powell
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
James P. McGovern	Jan Schakowsky	Rashida Tlaib
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
David Trone	Tom Cole	Joseph D. Morelle
		-
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Danny K. Davis	Gregory W. Meeks	Denny Heck
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jerrold Nadler	Angie Craig	Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr.
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Debbie Dingell	Zoe Lofgren	Ilhan Omar
-	_	
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Ann McLane Kuster	Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.	André Carson
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Judy Chu	Bonnie Watson Coleman	Val B. Demings
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Joseph P. Kennedy, III	Nydia M. Velazquez	Andy Kim
•	•	•
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Mike Doyle	Anthony G. Brown	Yvette D. Clarke
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Member of Congress	Michigal of Collegess	Michigan of Collegess

Sean Patrick Maloney	Daniel T. Kildee	Albio Sires
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Joyce Beatty	Adam Smith	David N. Cicilline
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Richard E. Neal	Ayanna Pressley	Linda T. Sánchez
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Frederica S. Wilson	Drandan E. Davila	Peter Welch
	Brendan F. Boyle	
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Joe Neguse	Barbara Lee	Lori Trahan
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
income or congress	interior or congress	nation of congress
Gwen Moore	Joaquin Castro	Grace Meng
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Betty McCollum	Vicente Gonzalez	Terri A. Sewell
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
David B. McKinley, P.E.	Dwight Evans	Matt Cartwright
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Mike Bost	Hakeem Jeffries	Suzan DelBene
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
A. Donald McEachin	Katherine Clark	Jennifer Wexton
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress

José E. Serrano	Andy Levin	Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Bobby L. Rush	Scott H. Peters	Kathleen M. Rice
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Dina Titus	Joe Courtney	William R. Keating
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Eliza I. Errad	December 17	Leedila Dealer Allend
Eliot L. Engel	Peter T. King	Lucille Roybal-Allard
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Derek Kilmer	Lee Zeldin	Marcy Kaptur
		_
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Eric Swalwell	Nita M. Lowey	Lizzie Fletcher
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Brian Higgins	Rosa L. DeLauro	Ruben Gallego
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Pramila Jayapal	Josh Gottheimer	John P. Sarbanes
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
John Katko	Kathy Castor	Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
John Yarmuth	John Garamendi	Kendra S. Horn
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos	Greg Stanton	Jahana Hayes
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Tim Ryan	Conor Lamb	Henry Cuellar
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Chellie Pingree	Salud Carbajal	Katie Porter
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger	Mikie Sherrill	Mark Takano
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Deb Haaland	Gerald E. Connolly	Christopher H. Smith
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Alma S. Adams, Ph.D.	Jeff Van Drew	Jim Himes
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Tom O'Halleran	Diana DeGette	Elissa Slotkin
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jared Huffman	Abigail D. Spanberger	Darren Soto
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Jerry McNerney	Frederica Wilson	
Member of Congress	Member of Congress	